Let them carry the shopping basket!

My new way of thinking is to get the children involved as much as possible. Whenever we are out and about at the shops now, I always let them carry the basket,  choose the groceries, place them in the basket, unload, pack and pay (when possible of course). The kids love it, the responsibility and the challenge. You just have to be careful when it comes to letting them carry the bags though!! I find it’s always more of a ‘drag’ than a ‘carry’ which is never ideal when you’ve got eggs on board!!

Seriously though, with my new ‘slow parenting’ head on, I’ve realised that there are so many simple ways I can get my children more involved and taking more responsibility, it just needed a change of mindset from me and a bit of reflection time to think through how the children could help out. Even making a sandwich can become a team effort. At the end of the day, everyone feels happier when they have a role and can take part. Children too!  Happier children through slower parenting. That definitely seems to be the case!

Leave a Reply

