Obstacle course making

My ‘slow mumming’  methods are definitely paying dividends. My children are so much more creative these days and imaginative play has rocketed since the summer. This evening saw my children come home from school, come through the back gate, into the garden and straight into setting up an obstacle course. Perhaps my daughter had been playing it at school but it just really impressed me that this was what she wanted to do, not watch the TV or fiddle on the computer, she wanted to be outdoors and she wanted to be ‘doing’ and ‘designing’. The obstacle course was not a disappointment either!! Two scooters to jump, a rocker to get over, a tunnel under the slide, more leaping over balls  then buckets and then a kick into goal to finish. Quite ingenious and enjoyed over and over for a good 20 minutes. I’m proud of them both. My little ‘slow mum’ advocates!!! Grinning from ear to ear!!

Leave a Reply

