Make a paper fortune teller

I had to look the name of this one up. I’ve been making them for yonks but have never actually known what they’re called!!!!! We call it ‘the paper foldy game’ in this house but with a little ‘googling’ ( I googled ‘folded game with numbers and colours and dares’) I came up with the answer, a ‘paper fortune teller’ or cootie catcher, chatterbox, salt cellar or whirlybird I learned.  I had no idea!!!  Basically it’s a children’s game that is made by folding paper (a form of origami I suppose) and involves firstly making the device and then finding someone to play it with you. The only way I can describe it, is that it looks a little bit like a bird’s beak and the beak is labelled with colours and numbers and inside are secret flaps with messages or dares written on them. Two people play the game, one is manipulating the paper shape and the other is the player. Confused? Yes I would be from that explanation. I think the only thing for it is to have a go yourself. Here’s how:

http://www.ehow.com/how_2053986_make-paper-fortune-teller.html

http://uk.ask.com/youtube?q=YouTube+paper+fortune+teller&v=rbA29zfEAZk&qsrc=472

If you need ideas for messages or mini dares to go under your flaps, in this house we do things like rub your tummy and tap your head, or sing a song or kiss someone, that sort of thing. Depends on the age of the people playing really. I guarantee this is a great ‘slowie’. First and foremost you have to make it and then find your willing victims!!! Have fun x

Leave a Reply

