Looking back

So where did all this start? This foray into blogging? I remember very clearly it was a Thursday in July earlier this year. The teachers were on strike. Schools up and down the country were closed and it was pouring with rain.  The whole day lay ahead of us and we decided to head out in our waterproofs. We visited our local park but there was nobody there. It got me thinking well where IS everybody else? Elbowing their way into the bowling alley or local cinema? Staring into the goggle box? Going round the shops to spend, spend, spend on their children? Cramming into an overcrowded soft play somewhere? It was a mystery!! Was I the only crazy parent in our village mad enough to hit the park? It really got me thinking about parenting and what I did and what I wanted from it and I was proud to have headed out into the fresh air. We spent 3 wonderful hours in our park, exploring the woods, visiting the baby swan on the river, shaking the trees to make it rain, writing with sticks in the mud, jumping in puddles. (Boy did we do a good job of that!! Take a peak at my two on one such puddle outing. They’re crazy about them! https://slowmumincambridge.wordpress.com/2014/08/11/puddle-jumping-is-good-for-the-soul/  ) We were soaked to the core that day and exhausted from having run from one end of the park to the other but had had the most wonderful time. Where was everybody else? I still have no idea. All I know is that I wanted to write about our escapades and also share our adventures and ideas of how to slow down in the whole parenting/ family department and reconnect. I hope you continue to enjoy the blog. Slower parenting is working for me. Might it for you?

Leave a Reply

