Get the kids to read things for you

Don’t just get them to do your writing, get them to do your reading too!!!! This dawned on me today as I was organising myself to read out the bingo clues for the umpteenth time. I suddenly thought ‘Why am I doing this?’, when my girl is perfectly capable of reading out the cards herself. She loved it, loved the role reversal, loved running the game and really loved calling out all the complicated bug names as her brother and I matched up the cards. (We were playing Bug bingo, you should try it! ) Now things have clicked into place with her reading and writing there are so many ways my daughter can take part. From reading out game rules to reading ingredients, recipes, texts, signs, leaflets, letters. The world is her oyster offering so much to read!!!

Leave a Reply

